History of Art

People

  • faculty

  • Rebecca Brown

    Rebecca M. Brown

    Associate Professor
    PhD, University of Minnesota

    410-516-0345 rmbrown@jhu.edu Gilman 182

    Research Interests: South Asian art

  • scampbell_profile_2011-web

    Stephen J. Campbell

    Henry and Elizabeth Wiesenfeld Professor
    PhD, Johns Hopkins University

    410-516-4928 stephen.campbell@jhu.edu Gilman 170

    Research Interests: Italian Renaissance and Baroque art

  • Feldman_JHU8066_web

    Marian Feldman

    Professor
    PhD, Harvard University

    410-516-2814 mfeldm20@jhu.edu Gilman 174

    Research Interests: Ancient Near East and Eastern Mediterranean Art

  • michael-fried-web

    Michael Fried

    Professor and J. R. Herbert Boone Chair in the Humanities (The Humanities Center)
    PhD, Harvard University

    410-516-7618 mmf8@jhu.edu Gilman 222

    Research Interests: Modern art, critical theory, modern poetry

  • Chris Lakey

    Christopher Lakey

    Assistant Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
    PhD, University of California, Berkeley

    410-516-0554 clakey@jhu.edu Gilman 184

    Research Interests: Medieval art and architecture

  • Merback_JHU9818

    Mitchell B. Merback

    Professor and Department Chair
    PhD, University of Chicago

    410-516-6948 merback@jhu.edu Gilman 172

    Research Interests: Late medieval and northern Renaissance art

  • pereda_2011-web

    Felipe Pereda

    Nancy H. and Robert E. Hall Professor of the Humanities

    felipe.pereda@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Late medieval and early modern Spanish art

  • PLTucci-web

    Pier Luigi Tucci

    Assistant Professor
    PhD, University ‘Sapienza’, Rome, Italy

    410-516-0642 ptucci2@jhu.edu Gilman 178

    Research Interests: Roman art and architecture

  • Warnock-web

    Molly Warnock

    Assistant Professor
    PhD, Johns Hopkins University

    410-516-7120 mwarnoc1@jhu.edu Gilman 138G

    Research Interests: Modern art

  • Nino-web

    Nino Zchomelidse

    Assistant Professor (on Leave); Senior Fellow, Bibliotheca Hertziana, Rome (Max-Planck-Institut)
    PhD, University of Bern, Switzerland

    410-516-8857 nzchome1@jhu.edu Gilman 180

    Research Interests: Medieval art

  • Teaching Faculty

  • DeLeonardis-web

    Lisa DeLeonardis

    Austen-Stokes Associate Professor
    MA, PhD, Catholic University

    410-516-5528 lisa.deleonardis@jhu.edu Gilman 165

    Research Interests: Americas; ancient and viceregal art

  • Rodini

    Elizabeth Rodini

    Teaching Professor
    Director, Program in Museums and Society
    PhD, University of Chicago

    410-516-4827 erodini@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Italian Renaissance

  • Emeritus Faculty

  • Charles Dempsey

    Professor Emeritus
    MFA and PhD, Princeton University

    charles.dempsey@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Renaissance and Baroque art

  • Herbert L. Kessler

    Professor Emeritus
    Early Christian and medieval art

    herbkessler@earthlink.net

  • Henry Maguire

    Professor Emeritus

    hmaguire@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Byzantine and medieval art

  • Staff

  • Lael-Ensor

    Lael Ensor

    Assistant Curator, Visual Resources Collection

    410-516-7122 lensor@jhu.edu Gilman 189

  • donald-juedes

    Donald Juedes

    Librarian, Milton S. Eisenhower Library

    410-516-0605 djuedes@jhu.edu

  • Ashley Kliefoth

    Senior Administrative Coordinator

    410-516-7117 arthist@jhu.edu Gilman 189

  • ann-woodward

    Ann Woodward

    Curator, Visual Resources Collection

    410-516-7121 adw@jhu.edu Gilman 169

  • Visiting & Adjunct Faculty

  • emily-anderson

    Emily S. K. Anderson

    Senior Lecturer (Classics)
    PhD and MPhil, Yale University

    emily.anderson@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Aegean and Eastern Mediterranean Bronze Age art and archaeology

  • Martina Bagnoli

    Robert and Nancy Hall Associate Curator
    Head of Medieval Art Department
    Walters Art Museum

  • Doreen Bolger

    Adjunct Professor
    Director of the Baltimore Museum of Art

    Research Interests: Modern art

  • Betsy Bryan

    Betsy M. Bryan

    Professor (Department of Near Eastern Studies)
    PhD, Yale University

    betsy.bryan@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Egyptian art and archaeology

  • Marius Hauknes

    Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow

    mhaukne1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Medieval art

  • James Meyer

    Adjunct Professor
    Associate Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art, National Gallery of Art

  • alan-shapiro

    Alan Shapiro

    Professor (Department of Classics)
    PhD, Princeton University

    ashapiro@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Greek and Roman art

  • Carl Strehlke

    Adjunct Professor
    Adjunct Curator for the John G. Johnson Collection, Philadephia Museum of Art

    Research Interests: Italian Renaissance art